The THEMIS FILES Series

by SYLVAIN NEUVEL

08

MAY, 2017

  • Title: SLEEPING GIANTS & WAKING GODS
  • Author: Sylvain Neuvel
  • Series: Themis Files #1 & #2
  • Pages: 304 & 325 pages
  • Publisher: Del Rey
  • Release Date:  April 26th 2016 &
    April 4th 2017
  • ISBN-10: 1101886692 & 1101886722

If you are looking for your next audiobook download, look no further. The full cast production of Sylvian Neuvel’s science fiction masterpiece is a MUST READ/LISTEN. Written in the journalistic narrator style that has been popularized by apocalyptic fiction., I think the Themis Files is the perfect book to experience in audiobook form, especially with the full cast line-up. The production was perfect and gave this novel star-power with the delivery.

The Themis files is a recounting of certain events that starts with the discovery of a hand. One of the main characters, the scientist in charge of studying Themis, was just a child when she fell into a pit – and at the bottom of the pit was a large metal hand. This began the discovery of the large metal robot, later known as Themis.

The first thing scientists figure out about the metal that made the hand is that it’s like no other alloy found on the planet, and it’s over three thousand years old.  Told in the first person and third person POV, depending on the medium that the story is delivered, the book is a narrative compiled by an unnamed narrator that plays an integral role in the story. The book compiles media records, interviews, and journal entries all done in a different narrator depending on the character. Even the interviews are comprised of two narrators, mostly with the unnamed narrator’s voice and his interviewee:

Book two in the Themis Files picks up almost a decade after the first book leaves off and with the “waking of the gods,” literally. A robot like Themis appears in London and the world has to figure out quickly if they will view these aliens as a threat or as visitors. The cast is the same, and the action only increases in the second book. New characters are introduced and you are given some more insight into what drives the unnamed narrator and the rest of the cast. There were some heartbreaking moments when I thought things couldn’t get any worse…but Sylvain Neuvel does not pull his punches. Then, I have to warn you – it leaves you on a cliffhanger, which book one did not, and I’m guessing it will not be until April 2018 that the next one releases, which will be a killer.

Overall, the series is a must read if you are a fan of apocalyptic fiction, I’m not saying this is an apocalypse, but it is in the style of apocalypse science fiction like World War Z. It is definitely Science Fiction, but whether it’s an apocalypse remains in the eyes of the reader. Let me know what you think. I do recommend this in audiobook, because it makes it MORE. I don’t know how they set-up the interviews in the print book, which is the main way that most of the information delineated, but it is handled spectacularly in the audiobook. Each character has a different narrator – so the audiobook was more like a movie, with no picture. Love it. The only reason this is a 4-star review, instead of a 5-star review was because there was some suspension of disbelief that didn’t sit well with me. The physics of the robot worked in different ways when it was needed to move the story along. But, other than that, stellar read. It’s unique and well-done. I can’t wait for the third book.

“I was smart enough to know it was wrong, but not brave enough to stop them.”

Audiobook Series Spotlight: THEMIS FILES. A Must Read Science Fiction Series.

Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel

Published by Del Rey on April 26th 2016
ISBN: 1101886692
Genres: Science Fiction
Pages: 304
Format: Audiobook
Source: Publisher
4 Stars

A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.
Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved—its origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Its carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected.
But some can never stop searching for answers.
Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top secret team to crack the hand’s code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the provenance of the relic. What’s clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unraveling history’s most perplexing discovery—and figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result prove to be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?
An inventive debut in the tradition of World War Z and The Martian, told in interviews, journal entries, transcripts, and news articles, Sleeping Giants is a thriller fueled by a quest for truth—and a fight for control of earthshaking power.



Audiobook Series Spotlight: THEMIS FILES. A Must Read Science Fiction Series.

Waking Gods by Sylvain Neuvel

Published by Del Rey on April 4th 2017
ISBN: 1101886722
Genres: Science Fiction
Pages: 325
Format: Audiobook
Source: Publisher
4 Stars

As a child, Rose Franklin made an astonishing discovery: a giant metallic hand, buried deep within the earth. As an adult, she’s dedicated her brilliant scientific career to solving the mystery that began that fateful day: Why was a titanic robot of unknown origin buried in pieces around the world? Years of investigation have produced intriguing answers—and even more perplexing questions. But the truth is closer than ever before when a second robot, more massive than the first, materializes and lashes out with deadly force.
Now humankind faces a nightmare invasion scenario made real, as more colossal machines touch down across the globe. But Rose and her team at the Earth Defense Corps refuse to surrender. They can turn the tide if they can unlock the last secrets of an advanced alien technology. The greatest weapon humanity wields is knowledge in a do-or-die battle to inherit the Earth . . . and maybe even the stars.




This Must Read Science Fiction novel might be a good choice if you’ve read and loved the following books:

Want more book recommendations & tutorials?
Subscribe to our Awesome Newsletter.

The Parajunkee.com Blog Subscription

0 Comments

James Franco Reads The Dead Zone and the Planets Align

The Dead Zone is a classic Stephen King, published in 1979, now available in audiobook and read by James Franco. The Dead Zone isn’t my favorite Stephen King, but that’s like comparing chocolate ice cream. With the narration by James Franco, they did a major push to get this one out there and “reread” by the masses. There is always a difference in reading and hearing it on audiobook, I think of audiobooks as performances – like a play of a book. And it’s even better when I’ve read the book, and now get to hear it on audiobook. Like an encore. This was an all-star encore!

read more
Page 1 of 49212345... »102030... »Last »

About The Author

Parajunkee

Rachel, whom you might know as Parajunkee, is the blog owner of parajunkee.com and the design blog parajunkee.net. To make matters even more confusing she is now a published author under the pen name of Gillian Zane. Rachel has been blogging for over eight years, designing / web programming for over fifteen, but her real love, reading, has been her favorite hobby since childhood. Rachel has won numerous awards for her writing, the blogs she has created and her design work. If you want to check out more about her books click "The Books" on the navigation bar at the top of the page.