Teardrop (Teardrop #1)by Lauren Kate

PJV Quickie: Lauren Kate is a talented author, her writing is solid, full of unique descriptions that set the scene and enhance the plot. Her latest novel TEARDROP was very similar to her other series, FALLEN in the style and feeling, but Lauren Kate did a much better job with TEARDROP in the crafting and implementation. I enjoyed reading TEARDROP even though I had some serious issues with it at some points, but I do look forward to the next in the series.

Review: A unique concept drives this series. Eureka is from a small town in Louisiana, where she has been instructed by her mother never to cry. After her mother’s death, Eureka has to bottle up all of her grief and face the world with a stony, almost emotionless persona. This gets her into a lot of trouble with her family, her father and new stepmom and their children. They think she is not adjusted.

The novels are written in the third person point of view, but they carry Eureka’s frame of mind, her detachment, but the underlying emotion that is bottling up. It made for a very different type of novel that kept you at arms length from the characters, which I wasn’t used to. I’m used to jumping in and loving all over these great characters. It wasn’t this way for Eureka though. Then we are introduced to her best friend Brooks, whom has a mad crush on her – but again is at that arms-length position, from both Eureka and me as a reader. I wanted to root for him, but just when you sort of like him something happens.

Finally there is Ander. Whom we get a glimpse of at the beginning of the novel, so we know he is off-the-charts weird factor. And their introduction is again bizarre. I understand he was HOT, but this guy, yeah the believability of this guy and the love factor was a bit creeptastic.

But, the thing about Lauren Kate’s writing, all this creepy, off-the-charts weird stuff that is happening she wraps it up in the angsty, well-written, descriptive novel and makes it work. It was enjoyable to read, even though I wanted to throttle the characters at times and question the plot as it veered this way and that. Some of what Kate introduced was ridiculously stereotypical, the mean girl, jealous would-be boyfriend stealer, the silly outgoing friend, the doting would-be boyfriend best-friend and the creepy stalker paranormal hottie love interest, but yes it did make the book enjoyable to read. The underlying story was unique, yet the implementation played on the usual Young Adult tropes, so yes the book was good, but it didn’t blow me away.

Finally, being a resident of Southern Louisiana, I do have to say that I noticed some setting faux-pas. It happens a lot though with authors that write about the region. They might visit a lot, but you don’t get it until you’ve lived it and New Iberia is one interesting place, very unique, with their own sayings and doings.

Overall a competent novel, a series that I expect to keep up with. It is not one of the greatest things I’ve read, but there was nothing glaringly wrong with it. I feel I’m always harder on novels that are in the middle for me, because there is nothing to rave about, but there is something to talk smack about.

Recommendations: This is recommended for young adult readers that enjoy a good paranormal love-triangle in their mix. This is your typical young adult novel, so if you are into that sort of thing, you’ll love this one. Fans of authors like Kami Garcia and Melissa Marr should really enjoy. There is a bit of violence and some romantic interludes, so this is recommend for a 13+ audience.