PJV Quickie: If I could only describe this book in one word it would be unique. Amalie Howard created an original tale in the over-done Young Adult, Paranormal genre and delivered it with finesse. The novel was well written, captivating and had enough surprises to keep me on the edge of my seat, unable to put the book down. WATERFELL is a novel not to be missed. 

Review: At the beginning of the story we are introduced to Nerissa, the main character of WATERFELL who seems to be living the normal teenage life. Then the novel progresses and I found out Nerissa isn’t the popular girl-next-door I believed her to be. Nerissa is actually a Queen-to-be of an underwater realm unknown to the human-race.  But what is she? A mermaid, a siren? Oh the book was full of mystery that was only given to you in pieces and parts, which kept things very exciting. I kept wanting to know what happened next, finding a new aspect of the story at every turn.

Nerissa, exiled Queen of the underwater realm of Waterfell, is reeling from the death of her father and trying to resign herself with living on land for the rest of her life. Her throne has been taken from her and her life might be in jeopardy if the current Queen decides to take Nerissa out of the picture. 

Yet, while all this is going on, Nerissa still has to be a normal teenage girl, she has to go to school, hang-out with her best friend and even though she doesn’t want to, she meets and crushes on a boy named Lo.  He infuriates her at first, but he gets under her skin. Their back and forth parrying is the highlight of the novel. Lo is a swoon-worthy character, with all the charm and good-looks a good Young Adult male hero needs. He is yummy! Nerissa is also a great character, she does have a spoiled and almost regal bearing but she balances these attributes in a well-rounded character, making me as a reader, really like her and root for her to beat the odds.

Combined with the great characters a very complex plot unfolded, with twists and turns that were not that predictable. I did manage to figure out one of the main plot-twists, but the author did try to throw me off a lot – so I was doubting myself a lot of times. But, because there was an obvious ending of a certain plot-twist it did make me not enjoy the outcome as much as I wanted. There is also a bit of a hinted at love-triangle, but it is nothing blown out or even explored a lot in the novel.

Overall a great novel and I’m looking forward to reading more in the series and from author Amalie Howard.

Recommendations: Fans of Young Adult novels with Paranormal Romance leanings, you’ll enjoy WATERFELL. This is recommended for mature teens, 15+, there is sexual interaction between the characters and the characters do act mature for their age, a bit of violence also. Fans of Jennifer L. Armentrout and Julie Kagawa should really enjoy.