PJV Quickie: Seriously, you can’t get much better than this series…

Title: A Beautiful Evil
Author: Kelly Keaton
Series: Gods & Monsters #2
ISBN: 1442409274
Publication: Published February 21st 2012 by Simon Pulse
Received ARC from Simon Pulse for review.
Links: Author Web >> Author Twitter >> Purchase Book >> Goodreads
Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Review

I love a good god/goddess myth story, if done right. Then combine that with a re-imagining of my wonderful city, New Orleans and you have yourself a series that I’m in Love With. I seam to go through cycles in my reading, right now it is Gods and Goddesses, which I’ve always had a fascination with. Kelly Keaton takes the embodiment of the Greek Mythology basics and channels it into this series. She doesn’t turn it into a fairy tale — where Hades is really hot and misunderstood, or Poseidon is actually a caring yet benevolent father. No, Keaton holds true to the nature of these Gods and Goddesses and spins a tragic tale that had me crying out loud, rooting for Ari and desperate to find out what might happen next.

This is the second book in the series and the main character Ari is now embedded in New 2 life and going to school, all so she can learn to use her powers and defeat Athena. Ari is one of the great Urban Fantasy type characters, self-sacrificing, powerful, yet a bit naive and compulsive.  She had me wanting to protect her in most of the book and then wanting to choke her at others. It was a great continuation of the series. I’m now obsessed with the romantic interplay between Ari and Sebastien and torn up about the ending. Keaton turned things upside down in this second book — and I don’t want to give away anything, but I’ll just say that some books will have this malevolent antagonist that does evil things for evil sake, well hints and looks into Athena are making me understand her a bit more, of course I don’t agree with her actions, the evil she-bag. 😉

Besides that, the book was fast paced and well written. Keaton painted a picture in her story that I could almost picture coming to life. It made it more interesting because she is writing about a “future” New Orleans and I could see it. Aiding to the fact that it was Mardi Gras in the book and Mardi Gras in real life here — that gave me an added bonus. Did I mention this series is a must read? Dark, tragic, romantic and anxiety-ridden, ‘A Beautiful Evil’ is by far one of the best second in series books I’ve read in a long time. If you haven’t read ‘Darkness Becomes Her’ what is stopping you?

I do have to mention that little loss of a .5 rating though, don’t I? Hate to do it, but it only has to do with the plot. It really bugged me that Ari would just do things with no plans and then figure it out along the way and her friends would follow behind and pay for it. Drove me crazy and had me cursing. But, I’m guessing this is what makes Ari her — I just didn’t understand why the others followed. But, minor minor minor — that is only my rationale on the plot. I know authors like to build up tension and anxiety and if everything worked perfectly then there would be no build-up. 😉

Read the series.

Recommendations:

Fans of Gods and Goddesses myths, you’ll enjoy. For mature teens only, there is some bad language and violence.

Like This, Like That:

Starcrossed‘ by Josephine Angelini
Touch of Frost (Mythos Academy)‘ by Jennifer Estep

Review TitleGoddess Myths