PJ’s QUICKIE POV:

For reasons unbeknownst to me I had put off reading this particular gem. Probably because in a world of heavy hitters that all had similar labels (dystopian, science fiction, young adult) it was eclipsed by flashier titles. And while I put it off for awhile, I did managedto finally get to it (the blame though lies solely on the the fact that I landed a Fox Inheritance ARC) and I’m so glad I did. THE ADORATION OF JENNA FOX was a superb blend of mystery, intrigue and thought provoking topics. While not the best of the best of dystopian fiction, I do have to say that I’m still thinking about this one and am highly anticipating book two.

REVIEW:

Jenna Fox has just awoken from a year long coma and she can barely remember her name, much less how to put certain words together. Trying to regain her grasp on reality Jenna Fox is focused on putting together the pieces, remembering her prior life and making sense of the strange changes that her parents and grandmother have made after her accident. Jenna doesn’t know if it is because of her accident or something else more nefarious, but she is determined to find out the truth. Especially as mystery after mystery begins to surface.

The mystery behind Jenna Fox kept me stuck nose deep the entire time. I thought I might have had it figured out but then another loop was always thrown in. The book was excellently paced and drew me in word by word. The character of Jenna Fox was also solidly formed, her character went from 2D to three dimensional in a wonderful transition. What I did find confusing was that I couldn’t discern the authors meaning behind the story. I thought she was going a certain direction but then the ending threw me completely off. I guess maybe I have to wait for book two to see how the chips fall?

RECOMMENDATIONS:

Recommended for fans of dystopian and young adult books. Fans of Ally Condie, Lauren DeStefano and authors of great dystopian and science fiction should enjoy.


Audiobook

Like this Like That

  1. Uglies by Scott Westerfeld
  2. Delerium by Lauren Oliver