Stone Kissed by Keri Stevens
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Paranormal: Magic, Weather
Series: Weather Warden Series
Purchase:  Amazon.com | BookDepository
Stalk the Author: Blog | Twitter
Review from audio book purchased on audible.com

PJVs QUICKIE POV:
It is almost breath-taking when you find yourself embracing a new and wonderful series…one with books spread out before you in the multiples. Ah. Sweet reader bliss. And what a great series. This one has the potential for definite greatness, and I can’t wait to read more. Rachel Caine is truly a wonderful writer and I’ve thus far enjoyed everything that I’ve read of hers. Truly superb and she has now been catapulted into my great authors category…up there with Mead, Harris, Harrison, Armstrong. Strong main character, intense action, intricately woven plot sequences, rich world building, emotionally evoking scenes and enough romance to wet the palate, you can’t go wrong with ILL WIND.

REVIEW:
Joanne Baldwin is a weather warden, a person of great power. She can control the weather, reroute hurricanes, dissipate thunder storms and call down lightening. But, in the face of those more powerful than her she is helpless and now she is on the run. Desperate to find another fugitive, a man that is on the run from the same people, Lewis is probably the only person on the planet that can save her life.

On her frantic run to Oklahoma City of all places, she picks up a random hitch-hiker who turns out knows a little more of her situation than he would have her believe. As the council closes in, Joanne must decide if her life-long friends are trustworthy, or if she can put her faith in her new acquaintance.

Ill Wind was packed full of action, mystery, romance and interesting facts and tidbits regarding weather patterns. Caine’s voice was assertive and full-bodied and she wove a roller-coaster ride that crisscrossed through Joanne’s life and painted a very vivid picture. Regarding the audio book from audible.com the narrator was quite talented and seamlessly transitioned from character to character. The whole thing was a good experience and I can’t wait to move on to the second book, Heat Stroke (Weather Warden, Book 2).

RECOMMENDATIONS:
This is an adult Urban Fantasy novel with some romance thrown in and a lot of action and adventure. Recommended for fans of Richelle Mead’s Succubus series or Kim Harrison’s Rachel Morgan series.