PJV QUICKIE:

You guys, I love this trilogy! Starting with Overruled, then Sustained, and finishing with Appealed, I have really enjoyed this group of characters and the world they live in.

PJ header

 

Review:
Kennedy Randolph has been in love with Brett since they were kids. After she gave her heart to him and got burned, twice, she decided to never get hurt again.  Now, she’s back in DC and wants to prove she’s over him and his obnoxious-teenage-jerk self.

Brett Mason works hard in the courtroom and plays hard in the bedroom.  The loss of his leg in a childhood accident has never slowed him down.  When the new prosecutor he’s facing off against turns out to be a childhood friend, he thinks it’s going to be a quick, easy case – he couldn’t be more wrong.

When Kennedy and Brett are forced to work together and get along in the courtroom, Brett is surprised at all the hurt Kennedy is still carrying from their teenage years. He learns what a hard time Kennedy had at the hands of his so-called friends, and he knows he’s got a lot to make up for. Kennedy doesn’t know if she can forgive the past, but Brett is determined to prove they have a future together.

~~~~~

Ohhhh, this book pulled at all kinds of my heartstrings. Kennedy and Brett were great together, but they had to do some real work to get there.  Ms. Chase has written an engaging story, threading the past and present together to create a realistic tale that shows the after affects of teen bullying and how it affects decisions made as an adult.  I like that Brett doesn’t get off easy because of his money and charm, that Kennedy’s pain is real and not brushed off as insignificant. Brett’s sessions with his therapist (hello positive mental health care portrayal!) and his young butler are an entertaining glimpse into his psyche.  Appealed has the steamy sexy scenes we expect from Emma Chase, which I enjoy, but it’s the relationships and humorous writing that I look forward to.  She writes this series from the hero’s point of view, which I also find refreshing.

There is a sub-plot involving Brett’s client, a 17-year-old computer hacker – really a bored and lonely kid, that moved the story along and kept things interesting when the reader needs a break from Brett and Kennedy’s intensity.

There were some issues for me, including Kennedy’s treatment of said hacker, and Kennedy and Brett’s mothers behavior was more than a little off-putting, but overall I really enjoyed Appealed – it’s a solid ending to this trilogy.

Recommendation:
Fans of second chance love, friends to enemies tropes, or legal settings will love Appealed.  Fans of Julie James or N.M. Silber will probably enjoy Appealed.  This book can be read as a standalone, although the characters from previous books do have parts in the story.

PJ new signature

About_the_book

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Appealed by Emma Chase #Review

Appealed by Emma Chase

Series: Legal Briefs #3
Published by Gallery Books, Simon & Schuster on January 19, 2016
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Source: Publisher
Also in this series: Sustained
Also by this author: Tangled, Overruled, Sustained
4 Stars

When Brent Mason looks at Kennedy Randolph, he doesn’t see the awkward, sweet girl who grew up next door. He sees a self-assured, stunning woman…who wants to crush the most intimate - and prized - parts of his anatomy beneath the heels of her Christian Louboutins.

Brent has never let the loss of his leg in a childhood accident affect his ability to lead a fulfilling life. He sets high goals–and then he reaches them.

And now he has his sights set on Kennedy.
**
When Kennedy looks at Brent Mason, all she sees is the selfish, Abercrombie & Fitch catalogue-worthy teenager who humiliated her in high school to join the popular crowd. A crowd that made those years a living hell.

She’s not a lovesick social outcast anymore - she’s a DC prosecutor with a long winning streak behind her. Brent is the opposing attorney in her next case and she thinks it’s time to put him through a little hell of his own.

But things aren’t exactly working out that way.

Because every fiery exchange has her wondering if he’s as passionate in the bedroom as he is in the courtroom. Each argument and objection only makes him want her more. In the end, Brent and Kennedy may just find themselves in love…or in contempt of court.

APPEALED is a sexy, humorous romance about first crushes, second chances and the final verdict of the heart.