PJV QUICKIE:

The eye-catching covers might have drawn my attention, but the writing and the story are what kept me reading. Interesting characters, exciting musician-on-the-road lifestyles, and sexual tension that left my fingers scorched wherever they touched the pages are all reasons why these books are on my keeper shelf, and why I’ve got my calendar marked for the next book.  Is it October yet?

PJ header

 

Caisey Quinn’s Neon Dreams series is one that somehow went under my radar until I met her at the RT Convention in Dallas at the Avon party.  She was signing the second book in the series, Loving Dallas, and I was thrilled to receive a copy. The blurb was interesting and the author was very enthusiastic about the series, but I put it aside until I bought the first book, Leaving Amarillo because I can’t start with the second book in a series.

OnceI started reading Leaving Amarillo, I couldn’t put it down.  I like the characters – a brother and sister and the brother’s best friend have a band and they’re traveling around Texas trying to make it big.  Dixie, the sister, has a college music scholarship but if they can get a contract she won’t be going back to school.  She’s also got a huge crush on Gavin, their childhood friend.  Apparently Gavin promised her brother Dallas that he’d never make a move on Dixie and he’s stayed true to his word… until Dixie forces his hand.

From there it’s a wonderfully hot story of passion – both physical passion and their passion for music.  When I turned the last page, I’ll admit I was really frustrated – I gave it a 3.75 on goodreads because I was enjoying the story but the end is unresolved between Dixie and Gavin and since the next book is Dallas’ story we won’t be getting their resolution until book 3.  I knew in my heart there was no way I’d enjoy Dallas’ story because I was mad that we didn’t Dixie and Gavin’s story resolved.

Well, I am the first to admit when I’m wrong.  I really enjoyed Loving Dallas. Dallas went on the road alone and his story is a “second chance love” story.  Not what I expected and I loved it.  There were times when I was frustrated with the lack of communication between the characters, but honestly I didn’t care.  The secondary characters helped move the story along, but they were also interesting in and of themselves.

This has been a great series so far and I can’t wait for the next book, Loving Dixie. I would not recommend trying to read these books as stand-alones.  The set up for Dixie and Gavin’s HEA is set and it’s going to be epic, I just know it!

Recommendations:
Fans of “Rock Star” romance and fans of New Adult will probably enjoy the Neon Dreams series.  Fans of Jamie Shaw’s Mayhem series, Erica Kelly’s Rock Star Romance series, and Liora Blake’s True Devotion series may want to give the Neon Dreams series a try.

PJ new signature

About_the_book

I received this book for free from book convention, Purchased in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Neon Dreams series by Caisey Quinn #Review

Leaving Amarillo by Caisey Quinn

Series: Neon Dreams
Published by HarperCollins, William Morrow Genres: Contemporary Romance, New Adult
Source: book convention, Purchased
Also in this series: Missing Dixie
Also by this author: Missing Dixie
4 Stars

Neon Dreams 1Nashville meets New Adult in Neon Dreams, a dramatic, sexy series from bestselling author Caisey Quinn, about a country band’s rocky road to fame—and the ambition, dreams, and love of the people who make the music.

Dixie Lark hasn’t had it easy. She lost her parents in an accident when she was young and grew up in a ramshackle house on a dirt road in Amarillo with her ailing grandparents and overprotective older brother. Thanks to her grandfather, Dixie learned to play a mean fiddle, inspired by the sounds of the greats—Johnny and June, Waylon, and Hank. Her grandfather’s fiddle changed Dixie’s life forever, giving her an outlet for the turmoil of her broken heart and inspiring a daring dream.

Ten years later, Dixie and her brother, Dallas, are creating the music they love and chasing fame with their hot band, Leaving Amarillo. But Dixie isn’t enjoying the ride. All she can think about is Gavin, the band’s tattooed, tortured drummer who she’s loved since they were kids. She knows he feels the connection between them, but he refuses see her as more than his best friend’s little sister.

Convinced that one night with Gavin will get him out of her system, Dixie devises a plan. She doesn’t know that her brother has forbidden Gavin from making a move on her-a promise he swore he’d always keep . . . a promise that once broken will unexpectedly change the future for Dixie, Gavin and the band.

Neon Dreams 2In the second novel in bestselling author Caisey Quinn’s Neon Dreams series, a country rock band and its members embark on the rocky road to fame and find love along the way.

Dallas Lark is so close to achieving his dream of making it big in country music that he can taste it. Arriving in Nashville after signing with sexy, successful manager Mandy Lantram, his life goes from tragedy and turmoil to one lucky break after another—except it isn’t really luck because Dallas has sacrificed everything for his career, leaving behind his band, sister, best friend, and high school sweetheart, Robyn, in the pursuit of fame.

Robyn Breeland is a successful marketing coordinator and promotions specialist for a thriving liquor distributor out of Texas. She loves every aspect of her job: coming up with new ideas, traveling, hosting promotional parties and exclusive events—until it brings her face-to-face with the man who broke her heart, prompting her to erect a steel cage around it.

When their paths collide and they’re forced to work together, Dallas and Robyn realize that the old spark they thought they’d extinguished might still be a burning flame.

(Blurb from Booktopia) The stunning final installment in Caisey Quinn's Neon Dreams trilogy.

Fighting for redemption...

I've lived most of my life in darkness, beneath the shadows of secrets and addictions. The last thing I ever wanted to do was hurt the only girl I'd ever loved-the one who brought me into the light. In my entire life I'd made one promise-a promise I'd intended to keep. I've broken that promise and now I have to live with the fallout. Dixie Lark hates me, and I have to tell her that I love her. I also have to tell her a truth that might destroy us forever.

Can she love me even if she can't forgive me?

Learning to move on...

Gavin Garrison broke his promise to my brother and he broke my heart in the process. I may never love anyone the way I've loved him, but at least I won't spend my life wondering what if. We had our one night and he walked away. I'm finally beginning to move on when my brother's wedding and a battle of the bands brings us back together.

Our band is getting a second chance, but I don't know if I can give him one. How do you hand your heart back to the person who set it on fire once already?