PJ header

 

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Boomerang by Noelle August #Review

Boomerang by Noelle August

Series: Boomerang #1
Published by HarperCollins, William Morrow on July 8, 2013
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance, New Adult
Source: Publisher
3.5 Stars



PJV Quickie: Boomerang was a quick, fun read.  I had a few eyeroll moments, but ultimately enjoyed the story and was happy with the way things turned out. The story had a definite ending (not a cliffhanger) but when I saw who’s going to be in book 2, I’m interested in continuing the series.

Review:
Mia Galliano wants to be a filmmaker more than anything.  She’s just been accepted as an intern for Boomerang, a national e-dating-type service. She celebrated a little too hard, and wakes up in a strange apartment not remembering the hottie in the bed’s name and she’s late for her first day of work.

Ethan Vance is a soccer phenom who’s been permanently sidelined due to injury. But he’s landed an internship that will lead to a paid position at Boomerang.  His bank account is empty and he’s got student loans adding up; he really, really needs this job.

As they both rush to get to their first day of work…you guessed it – they’ve both been hired as unpaid interns at Boomerang, competing for the paying position at the end of the internship.  And the first rule of employment at Boomerang?  No dating between co-workers.  Which would be awkward anyway, because they both want the job.

~~~~~

I had no idea that Noelle August is actually Veronica Rossi and Lorin Oberweger.  I’m not familiar with Ms. Oberweger but am a fan of Veronica Rossi. That being said, Boomerang is very different from what I’ve previously read.

I liked Mia and Ethan both, and I wanted them both to get the job.  And I really liked that Mia didn’t stand back and bow out, which I feel is often a theme in this type of storyline – the female selflessly gives up her dream or decides it’s not really what she wanted. I’m not going to give away any spoilers and say who won, but I liked the twists to the story and the way their competition ended because of them.  The romantic tension between them, due to the internship, was well done.

Boomerang’s side-characters provided a nice backdrop for the story, from Mia’s artist mother and grandmother with Alzheimers to Ethan’s young soccer team that he coaches after work.  Because of that, I felt like I had a good grasp of the main characters’ motivations and reasons for their actions, whether or not I agreed with said actions.

I had a few quibbles, but nothing that made me want to throw the book against a wall. I’m happy to say that the next book features Boomerang’s owner, Adam – I think his story will be pretty interesting *winks*

Recommendations:
If you’re looking for a fun, contemporary New Adult read, Boomerang is a fun way to spend a few hours.  Fans of Chelsea Cameron and J. Lynn may want to give Boomerang a try.

PJ new signature