PJV Quickie: A great PNR, Kelly Meade is a phenom story-teller and she wrangled this crazy tale about werewolves, magicians and a very scary hybrid into a breath-taking paranormal romance that has me unable to wait for the next book in the Cornerstone trilogy. But the light romance might prove un-titilating for readers looking for hot and heavy.

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Release Day Review! Black Rook by Kelly Meade #Review

Black Rook by Kelly Meade

Published by Penguin on 2014-07-15
Genres: Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 219
Source: NetGalley
Also by this author: Gray Bishop
4 Stars

Brynn Atwood is a low-level Magus whose unpredictable precognitive powers have made her an outcast among her people—and an embarrassment to her highly-regarded father. After a frightening vision in which her father is murdered by a loup garou man, Brynn decides to prove herself by finding the killer, and stopping them at any cost.

Her target is Rook McQueen, the son of a small-town loup garou Alpha. Despite being the youngest of three, Rook is first in line to inherit the role of Alpha, a duty he isn't sure he's capable of fulfilling. When Brynn finally meets Rook, she doesn't expect the attraction that draws her to him—and him to her.

No longer believing him a murderer, Brynn and Rook strike an alliance to find her father's real killer. But when his older brother is targeted by an unknown enemy, Rook will have to choose between his growing feelings for Brynn and his duty as the future Alpha of his community.




Review: Don’t let the generic cover throw you off, this PNR title is different then the usual fare in Paranormal Romance. More on lines with an Urban Fantasy with a romance side-story, Meade created this crazy world of Wolf packs, called runs, white wolves and black wolves and crazy magicians that are these funky snobbish societies. Such a great big, well-created world. No surprise though, because Kelly Meade aka Meding writes really good Urban Fantasy (must read!) titles with great big worlds and writes as Meade to put the romance as more of a focal point. The Romance was almost a side-story, but was romantic and sweet and I enjoyed reading about the couple that was inexperienced but came together in a real way, especially for a PNR with a werewolf for the hero. But, it might turn off some hard-core PNR lovers, because it is more story, plot and world, then romance. Recommendations: Fans of Urban Fantasy – this is a great crossover novel if you are looking to read a PNR. Adult, but not explicit. Fans of Dianne Duvall, Delilah Dawson (must be a D thang) should really enjoy.