PJV Quickie: This is a book that needs to be discussed. And by making that statement, it puts MORTAL DANGER by Ann Aguirre in a “great book” category. While it might not be a book for everyone and some of the topics in the book will be very controversial, it is definitely something to check out, even if it is to say that you experienced it.

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Mortal Danger by Ann Aguirre #Review

Mortal Danger by Ann Aguirre

Series: The Immortal Game #1
Published by Feiwel & Friends, Macmillan on 2014-08-05
Genres: Paranormal, Social Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Also by this author: Enclave, Nightfall, Midnight
4 Stars



Review: I’m going to jump right into it. The book starts out with the heroine about to commit suicide. It is all planned, she’s doing it. The way she describes herself, she is over-weight, unattractive, disliked by her peers. Before jumping she is approached by a ridiculously good-looking boy and he has a deal for her. He’ll grant her three wishes if she agrees to future favors. She takes the deal and the her first wish is to become pretty. This is the controversial part of the novel. Edie is your typical bullied teen and her option to get out of the situation is to be pretty and make it all go away. Her decision is based on the pursuit of revenge. Her bullies really did a number on her and she believes that by being beautiful she’ll be able to get within the group of bullies and cause a lot of damage. But, the problem with this…is that by breaking it down to just the one action, you reinforce the notion that in order to fix this suicidal teen’s issues – pretty makes it better.

But, of course, the book isn’t about the single action. It’s about Ann Aguirre’s ridiculously crafted worlds, a crazy strong character, that even though she was about to end her life, was doing so with a conscious choice and a firm grasp on her situation. Emotionally broken, but determined. It was hard to read and even harder when she made her deal, because reading it, you knew there was nothing good to come out of her deal.

You should probably read about it yourself.

So, my thoughts, right? Aguirre is a favorite, she crafts these wonderful worlds that make my life more full. Do you get that? I have a new world in my imagination because of Aguirre…which is something special. Would I say this is one of my favorite books by her? No. It was a hard novel to read, it had a lot of emotional upheavals and the heroine made a ton of bad choices, along with the love-interest, who I really wasn’t a fan of. But, it was a compelling novel to read and it kept me glued to the page, while internally it made me feel uncomfortable. I do feel that Aguirre put herself into this novel, you can tell by the dedication “For the survivors” and her Author’s Note at the end. But, I also think she needed to make this tale a marketable Young Adult paranormal novel, so a lot of normal YA Paranormal tropes pop up which make it not so heavy.

Also – a special round of applause for Aguirre, who used a word I’ve never heard of before:

“Yet there was no delicious schadenfreude, only a sick sort of regret, tinged in dread.”

 

Recommendations: For fans of Dark YA Paranormal novels, this is a more mature novel and I put a 15+ rating on this puppy. Fans of Marr, Derting and of course Ann Aguirre should enjoy. Ann Aguirre can do no wrong…