PJV Quickie: An epic fantasy with a shocking twist, The Kiss of Deception was enthralling and sucked me in from the beginning. What a fantastical ride!? I couldn’t get enough and I’m dying inside that I have to wait until 2015 to get more of Lia, Rafe and Kaden!

#Release Day Review: The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson

The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson

Series: The Remnant Chronicles #1
Published by Macmillan on 2014-07-08
Genres: Dystopian, Fantasy & Magic, Young Adult
Pages: 496
Source: NetGalley
5 Stars

In a society steeped in tradition, Princess Lia’s life follows a preordained course. As First Daughter, she is expected to have the revered gift of sight—but she doesn’t—and she knows her parents are perpetrating a sham when they arrange her marriage to secure an alliance with a neighboring kingdom—to a prince she has never met.

On the morning of her wedding, Lia flees to a distant village. She settles into a new life, hopeful when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive—and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deception abounds, and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets—even as she finds herself falling in love.

The Kiss of Deception is the first book in Mary E. Pearson's Remnant Chronicles.




[hr] [clearboth]

Review:
The main focus of this book is this big huge, rich world – and half the time I was questioning was this a future dystopian or a fantasy world? Pearson kept me on my toes, spinning a tale with her slick writing that had me guessing after every page. I also have to say she got one over on me, which never happens in Young Adult! I’m the reader that always figures out the plot. I didn’t figure this one out at all! In fact I was so shocked that I had to go back and re-read passages because I thought she had played a fast one on me.

The head jumping in first person was in the beginning an issue, but once I fell into sync with Pearson’s style I actually anticipated the changes.

Recommendations: Fans of Sara J. Maas and Maria Synder should really love this series. If you like YA Fantasy, you’ll love The Kiss of Deception.

Don’t judge a book my it’s character names – when I first read Princess Lia – my first thought was Star Wars Fan Fic. Don’t be fooled. 😀