PJV Quickie:  HER BEST LAID PLANS by Cara McKenna was a joy to read, cute and refreshing, it was so romantic I was sighing and smiling by the time I got to the end. Every girl dreams of going on holiday and falling in love/lust with a cute Irishman…Cara McKenna just brilliantly captured it and made it seem real.

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Her Best Laid Plans by Cara McKenna #Review

Her Best Laid Plans by Cara McKenna

Series: Cosmo Red Hot Reads
Published by Harlequin on 2014-04-15
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 122
Source: NetGalley
Also in this series: Crossing the Line, Getting Off, Breaking All Her Rules
4 Stars

Experience Ireland—the dramatic beauty, the warm hospitality...and the smoking hot local guys!

Imagine nursing a pint in a cosy, authentic country pub, far from Cork’s busy city pulse. Getting here took you a plane, bus, taxi and...um, bicycle. But just as you’re resigning yourself to drinking beside grey-haired farmers, you see him—a man with the looks and charm to soothe any heartbroken girl.

He’s your bartender. Your really, really gorgeous bartender.

For American Jamie Webb—recently dumped and housesitting for two weeks—Connor Kelleher is like a six-course feast after a 23-year starvation diet. But it’s gotta be casual. She’s just begun rerouting her life after a three-year man-related detour. Still, a sexy romp (or twenty!) with Sexy McBartender?

But what happens when Jamie's best-laid plans for no future plans with any man begin to change?




REVIEW: For only 85 pages, Cara McKenna wrote a romance with a punch. These weren’t characters that had known each other in the past, or had instant, love at first site. McKenna just tells a story about two strangers that meet, make the most of a two week adventure and fall in love, or at least, the beginning of love. The story of Jamie and Connor is believable, charming and well-told. McKenna paces the tale well and doesn’t reiterate facts over and over again to force a point. Which I’ve been noticing a lot in these novels centered around characters that “don’t want to fall in love.” It was refreshing. I can’t wait to read more from Cara McKenna, especially if they are about hot Irishmen.

Recommendations: Adult read, explicit sex scenes. Fans of Lauren Dane, Sylvia Day and Sarah Morgan should enjoy.